Day 24: No more “métro, boulot, dodo”

A mini French lesson:

Literal translation of Métro, boulot, dodo: subway, work, sleep

What this expression actually means: same old routine, work work work!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today, I am proud to say that my métro, boulot, dodo  came to an end, if only temporarily.

Although all of the reasonably-priced tickets to the ballet Gayane had sold out, I managed to cease wallowing in my own self-pity and venture into the city with coworkers both during our lunch break and after the work day ended.

Adventure #1:

Upon noticing that we were the only individuals left in the office during the lunch one day last week, we (two coworkers + myself) vowed to escape the office for our own lunch adventure sometime this week…and today was the day! The restaurant we had originally decided on, Smak Salad, was beyond crowded, so we headed to the base of Cascade to Paulaner Beer-House, a “German” restaurant known for their sausages. Very authentic. *cough*

We may all have had a good laugh when the “traditional German music” came over the restaurant speakers, but the food, “authentic” or not, was delicious. As I’m not really a fan of sausage, I stuck to the grilled veggie salad, beef and potatoes which more than satisfied my appetite. Here’s to hoping for more lunch break excursions in the future! *chink*

YQcd3Xsdo
The first table on the left was ours!

Adventure #2:

On a normal day, everyone leaves the office at a different time, but it just so happened that my American coworker and I were walking out at that same time (considering the American tendency to leave promptly when the working day ends, maybe this wasn’t such a coincidence). After chatting for a few minutes, we decided to continue the conversation over a cup of coffee.

Originally from California and a UCLA grad, he is spending part of his summer interning in Armenia through a birthright program. Unlike the Israeli birthright program, which is fairly regimented and perhaps a bit crazy (or so I’m told), this Armenian birthright program gives its participants more independence and appears to be more serious in nature— not to say the participants don’t have their own fair share of outrageous stories.

After little to no interaction with native English speakers the past three weeks, it was great to relax and hold a conversation with a “fellow American,” if you will. I wouldn’t consider myself a patriotic individual and usually refrain from broadcasting to the world that I’m American,* there was something extremely refreshing about this coffee break. It’s difficult to describe.

Stay tuned for more routine-breaking adventures!

*I find “American” to be a loaded adjective, especially abroad, and would rather people get to know me on an individual basis rather than associating me with what they perceive as “American.”

Leave a comment