Day 25: Déjà vu

It was not my intent to revive French expressions through this blog, but there are no better words to describe my day. Stylistically, French evokes more images in my mind as well, but that’s just my inner linguist talking.

How I Feel When I Admit These Things

friends animated GIF
Thanks to all of you that accept my nerdiness! (P.S. Your window of opportunity to pretend that I was a normal human being ended when this blog began. Now the secret that you are naturally inclined to befriend nerds is out!)

The Streamlined, Bullet-Pointed List Version of my Day:

  • Arrived at work to discover we were hosting two large meetings with our partner organizations: What I’ve learned from working at the Eurasia Partnership Foundation (EPF) thus far is that when applying for a grant, one organization will generally be the lead and the others will be subs, equally as responsible, but not the ones to “crack the whip” so to speak. Collaboration is highly encouraged and as a rule of thumb, you are more likely to be awarded a grant if you utilize partnerships.
  • Déjà vu #1: Left the office to go to a meeting with American Councils, the group that is the link between Lehigh, EPF and my host family. After missing the past two meetings due to the 4th of July holiday and being sick, it felt almost surreal to step out of the elevator onto their floor. Besides logistics, we discussed several ways that I might be able to get involved around Yerevan (Holding a workshop at a youth camp, presentation on American education, etc.) If any of these come to fruition, you will most definitely be hearing about it!
  • Déjà vu #2: Returned to the office to observe the second meeting of the day. Although the staff members had changed slightly, everyone was still gathered around the same table, eating the same food and speaking in the same language that I don’t understand.
  • Déjà vu #3: Walked home and was told by my host sister that we had been invited to dinner again at the same restaurant with the same individuals as last Thursday evening. Yes, we hopped into the same black SUV as before and sat in the same cabana from last time. Feeling quite proud of myself, I pulled out my camera to snap a few pics during the daylight hours only to realize that I had forgotten to insert a memory card. To compound my frustration, I still don’t know the name of this amazing restaurant . I doubt I’ll ever venture here on my own, but it’s a matter of principal. In case you were wondering, tonight’s menu featured perfectly-cooked homemade pasta and roasted beef to be eaten with a tomato-based sauce.
    food animated GIF
  • To end the day, I spoke to my family for the first time since I’ve been in Armenia. This Skype session lasted TWO HOURS, and I was begging for bed by the time our conversation ended.

    Me: “But seriously, it’s 2am here. This is not a drill.”

    I’m not one to get homesick (unless drooling over my ‘Recipes to Try’ [when I get home]  board on Pinterest counts), so this session mainly benefited my family. Don’t get me wrong, I love them dearly, but as my college roommate could tell you, saying I’m an “independent person” is a massive understatement.

    Roommate: *gets off the phone with her mom* This is the third time I’ve talked to her today. *smiles* I can’t wait to see my family this weekend!

    Me: I haven’t spoken to my family in…uhm…that’s a great question. I can’t even calculate how long it’s been…maybe I should call and tell them that: I have to come home a week early from winter break for recruitment, I’ll only be home for part of spring break, I’m going to Tanzania and Armenia this summer and that I’m looking at programs to study abroad next spring?

    Roommate: *jaw drops* Yes, you should do that.

Leave a comment